CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the **Council** held on Thursday, 13th December, 2012 at Grand Hall Congleton Hall, Congleton Town Hall, High Street, Congleton CW12 1BN

PRESENT

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman) Councillor D Flude (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors C Andrew, Rachel Bailey, Rhoda Bailey, A Barratt, G Boston, D Brown, L Brown, P Butterill, R Cartlidge. J Clowes. S Corcoran, H Davenport. W S Davies. R Domleo. K Edwards. P Edwards. I Fasevi. J P Findlow, W Fitzgerald, R Fletcher, L Gilbert, M Grant, P Groves, J Hammond, P Hayes, S Hogben, D Hough, P Hoyland, O Hunter, L Jeuda, M Jones, S Jones, F Keegan, A Kolker, W Livesley, J Macrae, D Mahon, D Marren, A Martin, M A Martin, R Menlove, A Moran, B Moran, H Murray, M Sherratt, P Nurse, P Raynes, J Saunders, D Newton. M J Simon, L Smetham, D Stockton, A Thwaite, G Wait, M J Weatherill, R West, P Whiteley, S Wilkinson and J Wray

Apologies

Councillors G Barton, G Baxendale, D Bebbington, D Brickhill, B Burkhill, D Druce, H Gaddum, S Gardiner, M Hardy, A Harewood, J Jackson, P Mason, S McGrory, G Merry, B Murphy, D Neilson, M Parsons, L Roberts, B Silvester, C G Thorley and D Topping

64 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

65 FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

The Council, at its meeting on 11 October 2012, had resolved that Freedom of the Borough should be bestowed on the following Olympic and Paralympic medal winners:-

Mr Ben Ainslie CBE Mr Niki Birrell Mr Craig Mclean Miss Victoria Pendleton MBE Mr Barney Storey MBE Mrs Sarah Storey OBE and Miss Beth Tweddle MBE

At this special meeting of the Council, the Leader of the Council, Cllr Michael Jones, formally proposed that, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the above persons, who had in the

opinion of the Council rendered eminent and distinguished service and in recognition of the very significant contribution they had made to their sport, the wider community and the Borough, be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Freemen of Cheshire East Borough Council and be thereby entitled to the rights and privileges of an Honorary Freemen. This was seconded by Cllr David Newton.

Mr Niki Birrell, Mr Craig Mclean, Mr Barney Storey MBE and Mrs Sarah Storey OBE were present at the meeting.

RESOLVED

That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972:

Mr Ben Ainslie CBE
Mr Niki Birrell
Mr Craig Mclean
Miss Victoria Pendleton MBE
Mr Barney Storey MBE
Mrs Sarah Storey OBE and
Miss Beth Tweddle MBE

being persons who had in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent and distinguished service and in recognition of the very significant contribution they had made to their sport, the wider community and the Borough, be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Freemen of Cheshire East Borough Council and be thereby entitled to the rights and privileges of an Honorary Freeman.

(The motion was carried unanimously, thereby complying with section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972 (amended by Section 180 of the Local Government Planning and Land Act 1980), which requires that the resolution is passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting).

The Mayor then announced the appointment of Mr Ben Ainslie CBE, Mr Niki Birrell, Mr Craig Mclean, Miss Victoria Pendleton MBE, Mr Barney Storey MBE, Mrs Sarah Storey OBE and Miss Beth Tweddle MBE, as Honorary Freemen of Cheshire East Borough Council.

Tributes were then paid by the relevant Ward Member for each of the Honorary Freemen and the Leaders of the two other Groups represented on the Council were also invited to speak. Each of the Honorary Freeman in attendance was then presented with a framed certificate, by the Mayor and Mrs Sarah Storey thanked the Council, on behalf of all of the Honorary Freemen.

The meeting commenced at 11.30 am and concluded at 12.10 pm

Councillor G M Walton (Chairman) CHAIRMAN